The NAF Academies of Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Strike for Success: Unforgettable Bowl-Athon Raises Over $5,000 for Academy of Finance Programs

The Academy of Finance's Unforgetta-Bowl-Athon, held on October 26 at Bird Bowl, was a resounding success. With more than 15 lanes sold and filled by our dedicated business and industry partners, we came together to support a great cause. The event raised over $5,000, which will be instrumental in providing support to both our students and teachers. [...]

Recognizing Excellence: Nominations Open for the 32nd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award

Miami-Dade County, known for its vibrant culture and breathtaking landscapes, is gearing up to honor the trailblazers of the travel and tourism industry. The 32nd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award, presented by the esteemed Academy of Hospitality & Tourism Advisory Board (AOHT), is back, and the nomination window is officially open!Established in 1991 [...]

By | August 31st, 2023|Academy of Hospitality and Tourism, Advisory Board, Awards|

Miami-Dade County Public Schools Department of Career and Technical Education Named Semi-Finalist for Career Z Challenge

Miami-Dade County Public Schools' Department of Career and Technical Education (CTE) is thrilled to announce its selection as a semi-finalist in the prestigious Career Z Challenge. This recognition reflects the department’s unwavering commitment to excellence in preparing students for successful careers in various industries through its career pathway programs and largest number of nationally distinguished @NAFcareeracads. The [...]

Miami-Dade County Academy of Hospitality & Tourism Names Steve Adkins 2022 South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year

The Advisory Board of Miami-Dade County Public Schools’ NAF Academy of Hospitality & Tourism (AOHT) is delighted to announce that Steve Adkins, President of the Miami-Dade Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (MDGLCC) was named South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year at its Annual Awards Luncheon held December 15th at the Hyatt Regency Miami. More than [...]

By | December 19th, 2022|Academy of Hospitality and Tourism, Advisory Board, Awards|

National Groundhog Job Shadow Day

Job Shadowing is a nationwide effort where hundreds of thousands of workplaces welcome millions of student shadows through their doors. Job Shadowing is an academically motivating educational activity dedicated to giving kids an up-close look at the world of work. Everyone benefits!For students, job shadowing . . .Provides an answer to the question, "Why do I have [...]

The 31st Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award Luncheon

The Academy of Hospitality and Tourism Advisory Board, made up of hospitality & tourism leaders in Miami-Dade County established the South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award in 1991. The South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award is presented annually to the leader who has made significant contributions to the tourism community - and the [...]

Building A Brighter Future

You can make a difference and empower students to become successful members of Miami's workforce by donating to MECA NAF Academies on Give Miami Day, November 17th!Your support helps build a brighter future for our students and grow our Miami-Dade workforce pipeline. Funds support industry-led work based learning such as, the annual NAF Mega Student Industry Conference.Why give [...]

By | November 10th, 2022|Advisory Board, Fundraising, Give Miami Day|

Hospitality & Tourism Leader Awards Scholarships

NAF Academy of Hospitality and Tourism students, Ahmed Middlebrooks, Homestead Senior High, and Sabrina Mosqueda, Miami Beach High were the first awardees of the $10,000 George Neary Academic Excellence in Education Award. Recipients were selected for $1500 scholarships awarded through the generosity of George Neary, retired GMCVB Associate VP, and member Academy of Hospitality & Tourism (AOHT) [...]

New officers announced for Miami NAF STEM Advisory Board

Congratulations to the new board officers for the STEM Advisory Board. Chair: Albert Sosa, HNTB Vice Chair: Sandra Hodge, Stantec Secretary: Alejandra Lorenzo, ITWomen/NOAA Treasurer: Omi Ramirez, Miami Dade College, Eduardo J. Padron Campus Immediate Past Chair: James Osteen, Jr.

By | July 17th, 2020|Advisory Board, Industry Partners, NAF, STEM|

May 2020 Advisory Board Newsletter

MAY 2020 NAF ADVISORY BOARD NEWSLETTER We know these past few months have brought unprecedented changes to our lives. As we’ve all transitioned to remote work and living, we’ve seen incredible commitment to NAF students through virtual engagements and support. We’re incredibly grateful for your partnership and commitment to ensuring students are future ready! In this month's [...]