The NAF Academies of Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Recognizing Excellence: Nominations Open for the 32nd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award


Miami-Dade County, known for its vibrant culture and breathtaking landscapes, is gearing up to honor the trailblazers of the travel and tourism industry. The 32nd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award, presented by the esteemed Academy of Hospitality & Tourism Advisory Board (AOHT), is back, and the nomination window is officially open!

Established in 1991 by the visionary minds of the AOHT Advisory Board, composed of influential leaders in the travel and tourism sector, this prestigious award celebrates exceptional individuals who have carved their mark on both the travel industry and the South Florida community at large. The award doesn’t merely acknowledge achievements; it shines a spotlight on those who’ve demonstrated unwavering commitment, remarkable leadership, and an unquenchable passion for their field.

Last year’s honoree, Steve Adkins, President of the Miami-Dade Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce, exemplified the spirit of this accolade. Through his impactful leadership and dedicated volunteerism efforts, Adkins has not only elevated the travel and tourism community but has also contributed significantly to the South Florida region.

The lineage of previous recipients reads like a who’s who of movers and shakers, including luminaries such as Dr. Peter Ricci, Dr. Paul George, Alyce Robertson, George Neary, Wendy Kallergis, Henry Delgado, Kimberly Wilson, Rocco Angelo, Alvin West, William B. Talbert III, and Stuart Blumberg, among others. These names signify the pinnacle of dedication and achievement in the travel and tourism realm.

If you know of someone deserving of this honor, don’t miss the chance to nominate them. The nomination deadline is set for Friday, September 22, 2023. All nominees will be celebrated at the illustrious 32nd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Lunch. This event, eagerly anticipated by industry insiders and enthusiasts alike, is slated to take place on November 16 at the elegant Hyatt Regency Miami, the gracious host sponsor.

For those seeking more information or aiming to submit a nomination, Julie Kennedy is your go-to resource. You can reach her at 305-693-3017 or drop her an email at [email protected]. The AOHT Advisory Board looks forward to uncovering the next luminary in South Florida’s travel and tourism constellation. Let’s join hands in recognizing those who’ve made the journey unforgettable!